The University of Maine at Augusta

The University of Maine at Augusta, established in 1965, started as a community-based institution offering associate degrees and became the seventh campus of the University of Maine System in 1971. Currently, UMA is the third-largest public university in Maine. In addition to its main campus in the state’s capital, Augusta, UMA also serves students at its campus in Bangor (UMA Bangor) and through UMA Centers located throughout the state. With multiple locations and long-term expertise in online and distance learning, UMA is generally considered the university of choice for Mainers of all ages who want to attend college without uprooting their lives. UMA serves a mix of traditional and non-traditional students and offers a wide array of liberal arts and professional programs leading to certificates, associate, baccalaureate, and master’s degrees. Programs are delivered on campus and through a network of university centers and sites across the state and internationally. The University offers general education and degree-specific courses using modalities including in-person, Hyflex, video conferencing, and online instruction.