Two Maine Students Named Goldwater Scholars

Out of an estimated pool of over 1,250 college sophomores and juniors who were nominated by their institutions, 410 college students from across the United States were awarded Goldwater Scholarships for the 2021-2022 academic year. Two of the students are affiliated with Maine INBRE at Maine institutions.
Jacob Cote, University of Maine
Mentors: Current INBRE Project Leader Dr. Sally Malloy, former INBRE Project Leader Dr. Melissa Maginnis, Edward Bernard
Career Goal: Ph.D. in Microbiology. Conduct research in the application and development of phage therapy as a viable medical treatment to combat antibiotic resistance.

Anthony Yanez, Bowdoin College
Mentor(s): INBRE Faculty Dr. Patsy S. Dickinson, former INBRE Project Leader Dr. Hadley Horch, Dr. Thomas Pietraho
Career Goal: My goal is to earn an MD-PhD with a graduate degree in neuroscience. I hope to use this degree to pursue a career as a physician-scientist.

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation was established by Congress in 1986 to serve as a living memorial to honor the lifetime work of Senator Barry Goldwater. By providing scholarships to college sophomores and juniors who intend to pursue research careers in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering, the Goldwater Foundation is helping ensure that the US is producing the number of highly-qualified professionals the nation needs in these critical fields.